March 02, 2017

On Friday, Feb. 24, 2017 the Greater Irmo Chamber of Commerce hosted its Annual Gala and announced their 2017 community awards.

“We have a fantastic community filled with people who continuously work to keep Irmo moving in a positive direction,” said Kerry Powers, president and CEO of the Greater Irmo Chamber of Commerce.  “It is our pleasure to recognize some of the individuals and businesses who are making a difference in Irmo.”

Awards and winners are as follows:

Order of the Okra
Tom Ledbetter, Midlands Technical College

Non Profit of the Year
Harbison Theatre at Midlands Technical College

Education Award
SC National Safety Council-Alive at 25 Program

New Business of the Year
Javis Tax Service

Small Business of the Year
Embroid Me

Large Business of the Year
Cassell Brothers Heating & Cooling

Ambassador of the Year
Michael Cromer, First Community Bank

Diplomat of the Year
Shelley Woodward, Inland Home Mortgage

About the Greater Irmo Chamber of Commerce:

The Greater Irmo Chamber of Commerce is a private, nonprofit, membership-driven organization comprised of over 700 business enterprises, civic organizations, education institutions, and individuals. Our mission is to provide leadership that will help create regional economic prosperity and success for our members in the Irmo area. The Chamber drives economic prosperity in Irmo and the surrounding areas by: generating business opportunities, creating an environment for sustained prosperity and leading economic development efforts that can provide an environment for networking. For more information, visit or contact Kerry Powers at

Comments (0)