Skip to main content

Columbia Business Monthly

USC's Moore School Names Award Recipients

Mar 26, 2018 03:14PM ● By Kathleen Maris

The University of South Carolina’s Darla Moore School of Business will honor the four 2018 Distinguished Award winners at its 34th annual Business Leadership Dinner and Awards Ceremony on April 19.

The 2018 award winners are as follows:

Distinguished Alumnus Award:

Barry L. Saunders (B.S. '81, MBA ‘89)

Saunders, a resident of Hartsville, S.C., is senior vice president and chief financial officer of Sonoco Products Company. Saunders joined Sonoco in 1989 after working as an audit manager with Ernst & Young. He has served in various leadership positions across the company, including as director of finance for the company's European operations, before becoming CFO in 2011. As a community leader, he has served on numerous civic and business-related boards and committees, including the Moore School's Folks Center for International Business, the South Carolina Chamber of Commerce, the Byerly Foundation, SPC Cooperative Credit Union, Coker College Investment Committee, Thomas Hart Academy, and Pacific Life Insurance Company Client Advisory Board. He was chairman of My Carolina’s Young Alumni Association. He is a certified public accountant.

Terrance Williams (B.S. ‘90)

Williams, a resident of Columbus, Ohio, is chief marketing officer and president of emerging businesses for Nationwide. He joined the company in 1995, working in positions in nearly every segment of the insurance company. Named CMO in 2015, Williams oversees numerous departments that fulfill the company’s “On Your Side” promise with members, partners, communities, and associates. In 2017, Forbes recognized Williams as one of the World's Most Influential CMOs. He serves on the board of directors for the Ad Council and the Columbus (Ohio) Regional Airport Authority.

Distinguished Young Alumnus Award:

Ryan B. Succop (B.S. '09)

Succop, a resident of Nashville, Tenn., is a placekicker for the National Football League’s Tennessee Titans. Succop was a kicker and punter for the South Carolina Gamecocks under Coach Steve Spurrier, for which he earned second-team All-SEC honors in 2006 and 2007. Despite being the final pick in the 2009 NFL Draft, Succop quickly emerged a top performer for the Kansas City Chiefs his first year. He was named to the All-Rookie team and won the Mack Lee Hill award as the team’s most valuable rookie. He signed with the Tennessee Titans in 2014 and in 2017, broke the all-time NFL record for most consecutive field goals made under 50 yards with 56 consecutive field goals. Off the field, Succop is a civic leader who is actively involved with Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Fuel Up to Play 60, Team Smile, Songs for Sound, the Need to Breath Golf Classic, and the Hannah and Friends golf tournament.

James Wolf (B.S. '05)

James Wolf, a resident of Charlotte, is a vice president, senior financial advisor, senior portfolio advisor, and retirement accredited financial advisor at Merrill Lynch Wealth Management. His team focuses on developing strategies for high net worth individuals, their families, and their businesses and leads new business activities. For nearly 10 years, he has served as president of the My Carolina Alumni Association of Charlotte and the Charlotte Gamecock Club. He also serves on the Board of Directors for the Gamecock Club. He is an active member of the Charlotte Chamber of Commerce, Charlotte Jaycees, and the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. He was a 2016 Charlotte Chamber Young Professional Business Leader of the Year Finalist, a 2012 Top 30 under 30 Future Leaders in Charlotte winner, and 2011 Standout Charlottean from the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation.

The Moore School’s annual dinner and ceremony honors and celebrates its most distinguished leaders as well as the school’s academic success and accomplishments of its students, faculty, and alumni. The recipients are recognized for their business and community leadership. Hundreds of alumni and prominent leaders in business attend the event each year. This year, the dinner awards ceremony will take place 5:30-8:30 p.m. Thursday, April 19, at the university’s Alumni Center, located at 900 Senate St. in downtown Columbia. Tickets can be purchased online until April 12.