Skip to main content

Columbia Business Monthly

SAFE Awards Scholarships

Apr 02, 2018 04:30PM ● By Kathleen Maris

SAFE Federal Credit Union named 18 Midlands high school students as recipients of its yearly college scholarships at its annual meeting March 19.

The scholarships, worth $1,000 each toward tuition, were awarded to public and private school students in the areas SAFE serves, based on financial need. The students were chosen by their respective school districts.

“Education is the most valuable long-term investment that we can make as a credit union,” said Darrell Merkel, CEO of SAFE Federal Credit Union. “We recognize that these students will be the ones who lead us tomorrow, and we are honored to help them further their education. We salute each of them.”

Students receiving scholarships are:

·         Joshua Clayton Pringle Jr., Scotts Branch High School

·         Deborah Lorraine Footman Manning High School

·         Jailah Smith, East Clarendon High School

·         Ty'Kira Chontel Jackson, Wilson High School

·         Olivia Lynne Walsh, North Central High School

·         Audrey Ann Hill, Lexington High School

·         Calvin Xavier Ford, Airport High School

·         Zaria Tishawn Chall Whitt, Batesburg Leesville High School

·         Hailey Elizabeth Brazell, Swansea High School

·         Shahd Basel Ajlani, Dutch Fork High School

·         Sukanya Clarinder Gay Bratcher, Lake Marion High School

·         Amariyah Alexis Ayee, C.A. Johnson High School

·         Nkechi Ntagu, Spring Valley High School

·         Marissa DeAnn Griffin, Sumter High School

·         Madison M. Kidd, Clarendon Hall

·         Harrison William Berry, Laurence Manning

·         James Edwin Walker, Robert E. Lee

·         Dazjuan Sy'Lek Butler, Thomas Sumter