Skip to main content

Columbia Business Monthly

SAFE FCU Announces 2019 Board of Directors Election Results

SAFE Federal Credit Union announced its board election results during its 64th Annual Membership Meeting held in Sumter on Monday March 18th. Current Director Dave Wagner was re-elected, while Joshua Smalls and Dr. Regina Lemmon Bush were added to the board.

Wagner has been a member of SAFE’s Board of Directors since 1988 and a member of the credit union since 1987, having served on numerous committees. He received his B.S. in civil engineering from Duke University. He is a retired Colonel from the United States Air Force previously serving as Base Commander at Shaw AFB along with serving on various committee positions for several local organizations.

Smalls has been a SAFE Federal Credit Union member since 2007. He received his B.A. and MBA from Francis Marion University. He currently serves as the human resource manager at Otis Elevator in Florence, S.C. in addition to volunteering with the YMCA.

Bush is a graduate of Columbia College and The University of South Carolina. She is the program director and associate professor of the speech and language pathology program at Columbia College. She is a past president of the South Carolina Speech-Language Hearing Association (SCSHA) and past advisory council member of the American Speech-Language Hearing Association (ASHA). Bush has been a SAFE member since 1984.

“We are pleased to welcome Joshua Smalls and Dr. Regina Lemmon Bush as new members of our Board of Directors,” stated SAFE’s President and CEO, Darrell Merkel. “We appreciate the time and dedication of our board volunteers and are grateful for the knowledge and expertise they bring to our organization.”

The newly elected board officials will each serve a consecutive three-year term. Current board members established their 2019 leadership with Kay Oldhouser Davis serving as chair, Paul Holder as vice chair, Vern Disney as treasurer, and Helga Hamlin as secretary.