Skip to main content

Columbia Business Monthly

SC Chamber of Commerce President, CEO Bob Morgan Announces Resignation

Jun 25, 2024 03:39PM ● By David Dykes

South Carolina Chamber of Commerce President and CEO Bob Morgan on June 24, 2024, announced his resignation after serving in the role for over three years. 

Mike Brenan, a former chairman of the Chamber’s board of directors, will serve as interim president and CEO while the board conducts a comprehensive search for Morgan’s permanent successor.

No specific reason for the resignation was given.

“Since moving to South Carolina, Meg and I have become passionate about the Palmetto State and I look forward to helping the state continue to grow and prosper,” Morgan said. “I look forward to building on this experience as I pursue the next chapter in my career.”

“South Carolina’s business community is stronger and better represented than it was when Bob joined us, and we’re grateful for his time here,” said Will Whitley of Michelin North America and S.C. Chamber board chair. “The Chamber is on an exciting trajectory, having accomplished great things during the most recent two-year legislative session and bolstering our reputation as the voice of South Carolina’s thriving business community as a result."

Whitley added, "We’re fortunate to have an accomplished and respected leader like Mike Brenan offer his experience and guidance as we build on this momentum and search far and wide for the next president and CEO.”

A stalwart of South Carolina’s business community for decades, including his time on the Chamber’s board of directors, Brenan brings a unique perspective to the position. Brenan spent decades in South Carolina’s banking industry before retiring in 2023 as the Regional President for the South Carolina Region of Truist Bank. 

Prior to that, Brenan was Regional President in South Carolina for the BB&T Corporation before its merger with SunTrust, which created Truist Bank.

Having a passion for building strong communities and families, Brenan has also served the state through numerous civic and philanthropic groups. 

He received the Humanitarian of the Year Award by the United Way of the Midlands in 2012 and has served on the boards of the South Carolina Philharmonic, the United Way Association of South Carolina, the Governor’s School for Science & Mathematics Foundation, the Moore School Business Partnership Foundation, the South Carolina Independent Colleges & Universities Foundation, and the South Carolina State Board of Education.

Members of the search committee tasked with identifying the next permanent president and CEO include: Chairman of the Board Will Whitley of Michelin North America, Chairperson-elect Thomas Rhodes of Rhodes Companies, former Chair of the Board Kim Wilkerson, former Chairman of the Board David Lominack of TD Bank, Second Vice Chairperson Howard Coker of Sonoco, and James D’Alessio of BlueCross BlueShield SC.